2017…. it’s been a struggle!

So this year is not going to plan at all. I’m back after a bit of an unplanned blogging break – can we please fast forward to 2018 already?

IMG_20170909_070800_560
Setting up parkrun, I have actually walked the 5K, but haven’t yet ran it this year!Β 

So far in 2017 I have not run anything further than 2km, which is a significant decrease in my milage the same time last year. To be honest, I’m not sure if the year of running 2 marathons and 7 halves just took it out of me but I’ve totally been struggling this year with illness and now dealing with anaemia.

So that’s the bad news, there has been good news (there’s always a sliver lining right??).

My hip/pelvis injury has been fixed and I can now stand on one leg without losing balance!! Woohoo! And I was totally smashing through the weight training and getting crazy strong before I got sick with pneumonia (nope, totally not exercising with that!), and I also was perfecting my gymnastics skills – can you believe it??

AND GET THIS…… I took my first non-running holiday in 3 years! Yep, I headed to Cali for the Disney D23 Expo and San Diego Comic Con and then discovered the PNW. I also ATE ALL THE FOOD!

20170713_121540

So that is what’s been happening with me. Now that I’ve taken a bit of a break I’m ready to get back into writing again, still not quite running while I have anaemia, but I’ll be patient and I know I’ll be back. Maybe I’ll just write off this year and focus on 2018 as the year of the comeback!

5 thoughts on “2017…. it’s been a struggle!

  1. I think sometimes we all need a little fun break occasionally- whether it be caused by physical stress or when it becomes more of a burden to run than an escape. I’m glad you’re feeling better now and that you had a sweet vacay!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

