The Grand Honolulu Marathon Adventure! (Part 2 – The Kalakaua Merrie Mile)

Disclaimer: I received entry to the Honolulu Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro Ambassador. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews! While the opportunity came my way thanks to the awesome group, all views and opinions are mine.

wp-1482230830076.jpg

Following on from Part 1 – Expo the next day we had intended to host the BibRave Pro Shakeout Run – meeting at the Duke Kahanamoku Statue. I say intended because it was raining, following on from 24 hours of rain. This meant that the sidewalks that we had intended to run on were incredibly slippery. And only one person showed up thanks to the weather! Thanks to Crystal for turning up! We ended up going for brekkie instead.

The rest of Friday was spent chilling out in Waikiki, the sun broke through and we met up with the other Pros Chris & Eric for dinner. It was an earlyish night thanks to the Kalakaua Merrie Mile the next morning!

Now I haven’t ever ran a mile race, a whole massive 1.6km. I intended to jog the entire way, not pushing myself too much since I knew my foot only had so much in it. So we walked to the start line at Kalakaua Avenue down near the Honolulu Zoo. There was no marked corrals, so it was an honesty system in making sure that you go when they call your coloured bibs. But that’s not before doing a warm up – which got the crowd moving!!

DCIM100GOPRO

The race started at 7am, and I think I was off and running at 7:06am – so it wasn’t too long to wait. The music was blaring and it was easy to start dancing in the street while we waiting to be allowed to be released to run! DCIM100GOPRO
Finally it was time to move and it was super awesome to run 800m down the main street next to Waikiki Beach and then back again, finishing at Queen’s Park. There wasn’t a huge blockage of people anywhere on the course, but it was good to see a wide range of ages and abilities out and about to run the inaugural event! There was a T-Rex out on the course!

DCIM100GOPRO

I must say that running down a closed street of a world popular beach at sunrise is incredible! Although it was super humid! I wasn’t looking forward to the humidity the next day for the 42.2km!! I was puffed at 800m!! At the turnaround point it’s just a straight road back down to the finish…. easy!!! 🙂

DCIM100GOPRO

DCIM100GOPRO

The finish line brought the Beach Party, which had a really cool set-up with a stage on the beach and lots of snacks following the mile. When I crossed the line (at 10:30ish for the mile) and after collecting my awesome medal, there was plenty of people lined up for the food – and unfortunately the line wasn’t moving so I skipped it and found the rest of the BibRave Pros so we could watch the elites race. This was a cool aspect of the race, the elites run about 15 mins after the last person crosses the line – with the women gaining a 27 sec handicap over the men. It’s first person who crosses the line wins and it was incredible to see these athletes smashing out a mile. In the end the winner was Edwin Kiptoo followed by the two females Nicole Sifuentes & Shannon Osika. I loved that the girls absolutely rocked it!!

On the way back to the hotel I had to get a pic in from of the Duke Kahanamoku Statue!

wp-1482230798280.jpg

I absolutely loved this race, it was so much fun. If you’re looking for a good time and a nice short run while in Hawaii – definitely add this one to your list!! It’s also good to do the day before the marathon, the legs felt amazingly loose and ready to run!

Funnily enough my time of 10:38 meant that I came 666th in the race (OOPS!) and amazingly I was 327/743 in my category. There was 1329 participants in the race.

Read my review on BibRave.com

Looking back: Part 1 – Expo

Next up: Part 3 – Marathon time!

2 thoughts on “The Grand Honolulu Marathon Adventure! (Part 2 – The Kalakaua Merrie Mile)

Leave a Reply

