It’s been a while – update on HNL Marathon Training!

wp-1476602541927.jpg
Last run for a while!! 

Disclaimer: I am receiving entry to the Honolulu Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro Ambassador. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews! While the opportunity came my way thanks to the awesome group, all views and opinions are mine.

It has honestly been a while since I’ve typed on this page – I can’t believe how busy it’s been and how time has flown by!

As you all know I’ve been training for the Honolulu Marathon, off the back of the Gold Coast Half Marathon back in July. So with 1 1/2 months to go, training has been completely derailed but I’m doing everything that I can possibly do to get my body marathon ready.

I’ve been struggling with foot numbness in the right foot for a little over 2 years, and it got to the point where I couldn’t even make 1km without it being in pain and going numb. It made a run completely unbearable, and for the first time since I’d been dealing with this whole thing my foot was going numb when I was resting at home. Not a good sign.

So I ended up having to get an MRI on the back, to make sure that it wasn’t coming from the spine. The good news is that’s A-OK, but we still need to get to the bottom of the numbness.

wp-1476602522413.jpg
How I’ve been feeling….

Right now I’ve been told not to run, so I’ve been deep water running, swimming, cycling, doing yoga and focusing on weights to strengthen my legs/core/glutes. I’m keen to be as active as I can be and try to get in the best shape I possibly can get – luckily this isn’t my first marathon so I know what to expect AND I was going in with the decision to run/walk it anyway to get the relief on my foot.

wp-1476602531843.jpg

So how will I know if this is working? I have a half marathon in 2 weeks (over in Auckland which I’m SUPER excited about) before being 1 month out from the big race! I CANNOT wait until December and heading over to Hawaii. I have the trip completely booked out and am looking forward to hanging out with the BibRave Pros on Waikiki Beach!

You can still join us – and save $50 off using code “BIBRAVE” – so sign up today!

ALSO we have the BibRave Pro shakeout run on Friday 9th December see here for more details!! 

wp-1461065474472.jpg

 

One thought on “It’s been a while – update on HNL Marathon Training!

Leave a Reply

