Time is counting down to Honolulu!

Put Ahtlete's Name Here
 Photo by The Honolulu Marathon Association

Disclaimer: I am receiving entry to the Honolulu Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro Ambassador. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews! While the opportunity came my way thanks to the awesome group, all views and opinions are mine.

Time is counting down to the Honolulu Marathon!! Yes, incredibly there are less than 126 days until race day – where I get to run an incredible 42.2km in one of the best locations on earth. It doesn’t get any more exciting now does it??

If you’re sitting on the edge on signup, there’s no better time to go ahead and do it now. In fact, you can also save $50 off your registration using the code “BIBRAVE”.

wp-1461065474472.jpg

This year the Honolulu Marathon Association are also holding the The Kalakaua Merrie Mile on the Saturday before the marathon – an 1.6KM party down Kalakaua Avenue in Waikiki. I’m so super excited at this race and think it’s a great way to welcome the race weekend. And add to the fact that it’s not a half marathon before the full (I’m looking at YOU Goofy Challenge), it’s a good way to get the legs moving. I’ll be soaking up the atmosphere and definitely joining the post-race partu

The full marathon itself is on the Sunday, I’m so excited to take on the course – running alongside the historical sights of Hawaii, but then also heading out to the amazing scenery that surrounds Honolulu including the famous Diamond Head.

2015 Honolulu Marathon runners/December 13, 2015. Getty Images for HONOLULU MARATHON
Photo by The Honolulu Marathon Association

If that doesn’t entice you to SIGN UP RIGHT NOW, what about the masaladas that you receive at the end of the race – yep, you get donuts. It totally beats that measly banana you get at most races! Seriously, the thought of these waiting for me at the finish line (along with the medal and finisher’s shirt) is going to get me moving!!!

There’s still time to start training, I’m underway in my schedule towards the marathon, thanks to the coaches over at Sweat Tracker. After the Gold Coast Half I was feeling a little worn out, add to the issue I was commuting 4 hours a day which meant I was only running the long runs on Sunday and at the best, maybe a short run during the week/on Saturday. I was absolutely exhausted both mentally and physically post- Gold Coast and had to take some time off (about a week to recharge the batteries). My coach was incredible when I reached out, and quickly amended my plan to not only help me get back into the 3/4 days a week training (now that I’m no longer commuting) and edging up towards the 20km+ mark for the long runs.

It’s somehow moving past the 21km mark that has me incredibly nervous. I know that I’ve managed to do this exact thing a year ago, but it’s just a whole mental aspect of going beyond the safety of the half distance that has me. I guess I’ll just keep psyching myself up with the thought of HAWAII!

Looking for reviews about the race? Check out BibRave here – Honolulu Marathon.

If you’re like me and love the thought of HAWAII, then come and join me on the start line December 11!! Make sure you signup using the code “BIBRAVE” to save $50 off your entry fee!

 

Leave a Reply

