What a week!

wp-1463906246570.jpg

Seriously, I’ve just had the craziest week – ranging from my computer completely dying (thankfully it was repaired) to falling down in the street outside my office. I mean, who as an adult falls down in a city street??  After smashing my knee on the gutter, and hitting the pavement with my palm, I was a little sore and sorry for myself. Luckily I didn’t break my wrist, just managed a sprain but I did miss a run in order to make sure I was ok.

Fast forward to Saturday and I decided to use parkrun (free, weekly timed 5K) as part of the 6K that I was meant to do. I started out amazing, and felt really good. At the 2.5k turnaround though I could feel my left leg (the side where I mostly fell) tighten up, immediate thoughts went to “WHY DID I NOT ROLL AFTER I FELL???” – that totally was the right thing to do, and I missed the opportunity and I was paying for it first run back. All I had to do was to grit my teeth and keep going. If it was going to get worse then I’d back off. I passed the finish flag with 32:10, and didn’t think much of it.

Imagine my surprise when I got my results email (how awesome is parkrun, they even email you your results!) and it showed that I got a parkrun PR – that’s the second parkrun PR in my last two runs, woohooo!!!!

wp-1463906196672.jpg

Now onto today – a massive 17km long run, to get me half-marathon ready (my first winter half is in less than a month). Normally I run a loop around the area, but decided to take in the amazing trails that are a short while away. The plan was the run to the start of the trail, up the trail and then turn around and come home. While I was aware of the incline going up to the lookout, I wasn’t aware of the craziness that I was in for past the second lookout. While it was nice and scenic going down towards the final 1.5km of my first half of the run – I was dreading coming back up it. Ugh. Why was this a good idea??

Then my darn water ran out with about 4k to go. I wasn’t too worried, thinking I’d run past the surf club and fill up from the bubbler. Which was a great idea except there was no bubbler. Ugh oh. 2k from home and I had no choice but to keep going and make sure that I hydrate when I get home. One of the awesome things about trying a new route (and it being half on a trail) was that it really takes your mind off the distance. Also, it makes me a little more confident to tackle the 10k trail run that I have signed up for in July.

Also, running along the coast with these views really makes you think you’re on top of the world and it’s an amazing feeling!

wp-1463906469864.jpg

How’d your training week go? 

One thought on “What a week!

  1. I love what you guys are usually up too. This sort
    of clever work and reporting! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added
    you guys to my blogroll.

    Like

Leave a Reply

