The long adventure of the orange buff… (UV Full Buff Review)

wp-1455144296967.jpg

Disclaimer: I received the UV Full Buff to review as part of being a BibRave Pro Ambassador. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews! While the opportunity came my way thanks to the awesome group, all views and opinions are mine.

Let me tell you that this UV Full Buff review is a long time coming that has covered across two countries…

I absolutely love Buff products and regularly use the UV Half Buff to run with since I’m a complete sweaty betty, so I jumped at the opportunity to review the full size. It has to be double the fun right??

Timing worked well since it was August – I was heading over to Canada for work and then back to Anaheim for the Disneyland Half Marathon so it completely cut down on shipping and made it easy for everyone (or so I thought)… I had checked with my hotel upon check in to see if anything was shipped to me, and continued through the stay. But nothing appeared to have turned up. Finally (and once I was home) we managed to get the tracking information and it had been shipped to the hotel, prior to when I got there. Sigh….

I was determined to track down this Buff – and ended up liaising with the hotel, who then wanted $100USD to ship it to me. Now, one of the awesome features of the Buff is that it doesn’t weigh a ton, so how could anyone justify the $100 courier fee???

In the end one of my awesome pals managed to pick it up and I got the Buff upon my return to the US during my January trip of craziness..

SO, now onto the review of the UV Full Buff. As I mentioned above I’m a massive UV Half Buff fan, so absolutely thrilled to try the full sized version. The first thing I noticed was that this Full size is massive. In fact, a little more than double the UV Half.

wp-1456300298423.jpg

As per usual you’ll find the UV Full Buff made out of 100% microfiber polyester, with Coolmax® Extreme and Polygiene® Active Odor Control meaning that the moisture is quickly pulled away from your skin then dries quickly while maintaining odor and eliminating any nasty bacteria & fungus that causes odor. Not bad for a tubular shape of material huh?

Additionally the UV product range blocks around 95% of UV radiation* which is great for being out in the harsh Aussie sun – although always remember to practice your sun safety (especially sunscreen) every time you step outside!

With so many features built in it’s easy to see why they’re so awesome for running, adventuring and living…..

wp-1456300189217.jpg

 

I normally wear my Buffs around my wrist to help with the sweat situation on a run. The UV Half Buff is a nice size for this purpose, but the UV Full is a little too big from experience of when I went out a couple of times to use it in this way.
Good news is that you can wear it another 11+ ways. I wore this in place of a headband during an overcast summer day  and it worked a treat – not once did it move mid-run. I’m not yet game to try to rock this buff survivor style as a tube top – but I’m sure it could be done if desperate!!

 

As we’re heading into autumn I am looking forward to cooler temperatures (mid-year) when I can wear this around my neck for those runs out in the cold wind. I did this with the UV Half last year but I think that the full size will offer more coverage and a chance to hit both the neck and face rather than rocking a scarf and UV Half Buff (YAY for warmth!). I must note that it doesn’t get crazy cold here (no minus temperatures) but it’s all relative really isn’t it??

I can definitely see a place for both UV Full and UV Half Buffs as part of my standard gear, making sure that this sweaty Betty has a Buff on hand when leaving the house!

 

*Samples of fabrics have been tested for erythemally effective UV protection by LEITAT—Textile Technology Center in accordance with the standard AS/NZS4399:1996. “Sun protective clothing—Evaluation and Classification”, results ranged from 93.3% (UPF≥15) to 98.0% (UPF≥50) averaging 95% UV protection (UPF≥20).

Leave a Reply

