Guess where I’m running next???

2015 Honolulu Marathon runners/December 13, 2015. Getty Images for HONOLULU MARATHON
Imagine running in this paradise!  Photo by The Honolulu Marathon Association.

Disclaimer: I am receiving entry to the Honolulu Marathon as part of being a BibRave Pro Ambassador. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews! While the opportunity came my way thanks to the awesome group, all views and opinions are mine.

I previously thought I’d never run a marathon. Then I signed up for the WDW Marathon which was meant to be my one and done. Needless to say that I’ve become hooked and have signed up to complete my next marathon….in Honolulu!

As I’ve always said, go big or go home right??

The Honolulu Marathon is one of the largest US marathons with about 30,000 runners and no time limit so it’s runner and walker friendly. Add the fact that there’s malasadas (similar to a donut) at the finish line and entertainment on course and you’ll get why this is the ULTIMATE marathon to run.

Put Ahtlete's Name Here
I can’t wait to catch an incredible sunrise on my way to the finish! HO Photo by The Honolulu Marathon Association

I’ve only been to Honolulu once before when I was younger, so cannot wait to get back to the amazing location and experience 42.2km by foot. The race actually starts out at Ala Moana Beach Park, then running through downtown along Honolulu Harbour and through the historic buildings of the area. Of course you end up running past Waikiki Beach (and perhaps look forward to taking a quick dip post-run), then out to Diamond Head – an extinct volcanic crater 760-feet high – where they may be some uphills (hopefully not too bad!!) and then onto the panoramic Kalanianaole Highway (note: this may be where the rainbows happen) and onto Hawaii Kai before turning back to finish in Kapiolani Park back near Waikiki Beach. Sounds like fun huh??

Also new this year there will be a mile race held on December 10 which is the The Kalakaua Merrie Mile, held down Kalakaua Avenue and ending with a beach party. WHAT?? A beach party after a one mile race?? Then what can we expect after 26.2 miles (42.2km)??? (HINT: You can expect fireworks at the beginning).

What I love about Hawaii (and Hawaiians) is the pride in their history, and this Merrie Mile is no exception, with the race named after King Kalakaua who was also called the Merrie Monarch. Pretty cool huh? It’s the perfect shake-out prior to the Marathon and for only $38USD which includes a race shirt & finisher medal – however spots are extremely limited (as of two days ago they released the remaining 700 spots).

Put Ahtlete's Name Here
Looking forward to crossing this exact finish line in 291 days! HO Photo by The Honolulu Marathon Association

As I mentioned above the marathon course is open to walkers, however if you’re not up for the 42.2km distance there is the Race Day Walk which is a non-timed event taking in the first 10K of the marathon. The entry fee is less than the standard marathon fee at $60 (until Nov 8) which includes a t-shirt commemorating the event.

And finally there’s a marathon carb-loading luau that takes place on the Friday night before the weekend. Cool huh??

So I guess there’s definitely something for everyone, and I’m super excited to take part in the celebrations for the weekend, in such an amazing place as Honolulu. To get me in the Hawaiian mood I have been reading the post-race reviews from my fellow BibRave Pros who have taken part in this event over the last 2 years – Sarah from Run Ginger Run and Tom from Runs and Places. And I have to say that the next 291 days are going to be long as I countdown to this awesome event.

What’s also great is that registration has just opened up for all US/CA and International participants to take advantage of earlybird entry of only $115USD until April 14th. Sign up here and join me on the start line December 11!!

6 thoughts on “Guess where I’m running next???

  1. Hugely exciting! Honolulu marathon is one of the only marathons that I’d break my “I’ll never run a marathon” comment for! I ran the Maui half marathon and it was AMAZING so I’m sure you’ll have just as much fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

