Turning a corner

wpid-wp-1427884104024.jpeg

 

Woohoo! A new month! I wrapped up March rocking out my fifth volunteer morning out at Parkrun. I can’t tell you enough, it’s such an awesome event – and given that it’s run entirely by volunteers, it’s important to get out and support if you run weekly. In my case, I’m looking forward to getting out there and getting that 5K done! I definitely think as I build my running again I’m going to eventually get my sub-30min 5K.

As you may have noticed I seemed to have turned a corner. A couple of weeks ago I wrote about how frustrated I was, thinking that I wasn’t getting anywhere with my injury (see awesome bone scan below to see what I was dealing with). Skip forward to now, and after weeks of calf raises – including adding weights – and rolling, my legs feel completely different. It’s weird to describe them as feeling stronger, but that’s exactly what it is.

So crazy me tests this out and decides to go for a run, however sticking to my comeback interval plan. As I’m running, I’m expecting to feel something and I don’t. At all. Nothing. No pain. Say WHAT?

AMAZING!

Sure, this looks scary (and I was MEGA scared 2 days ago) but things aren't always what they seem..

I backed it up with another run 2 days later just to make sure it wasn’t a fluke, and came up with success! What’s incredible is the mental weight that has been lifted off my shoulders, I’m no longer anxious at the thought of so many days until the Disneyland Half, and now happily looking at these training programs that began at the end of the month.

So right now, post recent physio visit I’m looking at fast tracking my comeback (under observation of my physio) AND I’m also aiming to get back to running daily, something that I haven’t done since June last year.

It’s a stellar start to a new month, and I’m going to get those kilometres up! Watch this space!!! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

