Just be you… (In 2015 and stuff)

Honestly, I think the title is a little cliche, but I had a revelation yesterday (guess it was timely that it happened coming into the new year), it was a tweet of an old post by Kelly Roberts about Achieving the Runners Body. It’s a great post – you can click through to read it here.

It really got me thinking, sure we all obsess about trying to look like the ideal runner, but have we forgotten that we actually are? In 2014 I never took a compliment, I’d always  answered with “really? I’ve only ran 3/4/5k today”. That’s still a significant distance. Where do we actually accept that what we are doing is pretty darn awesome?

My outlook all changed with a situation last year where someone stopped me on the road to talk all things running (crazy, I know) and mentioned that I needed to lose weight before I could even consider attempting a half marathon (yep, they didn’t know the distance of a half), even though I had one in 2 weeks time. I didn’t ask for any advice, and I certainly didn’t ask to be critiqued on my body type. It left a sour taste in my mouth, but who was this nobody to judge? I knew I could make the distance, and so I turned the anger into determination to complete the Disneyland Half Dumbo Double Dare Challenge. This was the first time that I wasn’t upset about the way I looked. I had put in the kilometres, I was ready to run. No one was going to put me down.

So I put it to you…. Just be you in 2015 (and beyond). We need to stop with the obsessing over looking like something out of a magazine. We need to stop comparing ourselves. We are all inspiration for each other, not competition. We come in all shapes and sizes.

wpid-img_20141230_084454.jpg

This is me. I love 10k runs more than the other distances, I’m going to try and start training for a Marathon from mid-year for January 2016. I’m not the fastest runner. I’m coming up to my 2 year runniversary. I have a wicked addiction to White Choc Macadamia Clif Bars and I talk about donuts (and food in general) a WHOLE lot. I may not look like the advertised image of a runner but it’s taken me so many years to get to this point where I’m happy doing what I’m doing. I’m happy with the struggle that 5k may give me on one day and the ease of a 10k another. Sure, there’s some some room to lose, but I’m not going to obsess over it this year. I’m going to make sure I’m as healthy as I can be and be as happy as I can be. I’m going to support my friends 100% to their running goals, as I know they will for me. It’s about the journey, and it’s about becoming an AMAZING person because of it.

 

Happy New Year everyone! Just remember you are all AWESOME and I know we are all going to rock out 2015!

7 thoughts on “Just be you… (In 2015 and stuff)

Leave a Reply

