It’s a BibRave Pro Stocking Stuffer Week! Day 1= Clif Bar!

Disclaimer: I’m lucky enough to be continuing as a BibRave Pro Ambassador for 2015 (woohoo!).The products featured were vendors who partnered with BibRave during 2014, however all opinions and words are my own. Learn more about becoming a BibRave Pro (ambassador), and check out BibRave.com to review find and write race reviews! 

It’s almost time!! Argh!!! If you’re stuck looking for the final gifts for yourself (let’s face it, who doesn’t shop for themselves this year) or others, let the BibRave Pro team be your guide! Each day there will be a Pro featured with their stocking stuffers for 2014, sponsored by Zensah.

Firstly is Heather’s favourite which is something that I am currently obsessing over, Clif Bars!! (BTW – you can follow Heather’s adventures here!!)

1544456_311188872412772_2427310424600263052_n
It’s Day 1 of the BibRave Stocking Stuffer Guide!! Picture taken from BibRave

What can I say about Clif Bars?? I LOVE LOVE LOVE the White Chocolate Macadamia ones!! I honestly can’t get enough of them. Luckily for me, there is an organic place that is about 500m up the road which sells them otherwise I’d be in all sorts of trouble.

I had previously tried the Chocolate Chip bar earlier in the year, but it wasn’t until I was starving at the Disneyland Welcome Event that I ventured into the White Choc Macadamia version. As attendees of the event (Clif was one of the event sponsors) we received one of the mini versions in our goodie bag. The mini version is exactly like the bigger version – same consistency and packed with goodness, just itty bitty sized (and perfect for tucking away in your running belt!). One bite (and there is about 2 bites max in this size) and I was hooked!!

Umm, yeah - I may like these WAY too much!
Umm, yeah – I may like these WAY too much!

What I love about the regular Clif Bar is that it’s a great thing to eat at ANYTIME, you don’t have to be working out to be able to enjoy it. In fact, when I’m feeling hungry and I know that anything else that I’m going to eat won’t do the job – then it’s off to the store I go! Somehow Clif always settles the hunger pains! While the product itself is not the neatest, the ingredients are certainly visible however the bar itself is not heavy post eating, which is exactly what you want (nothing worse than feeling weighed down).

I also picked up some Clif Shot Bloks and Builders Bars during that weekend in August. The Builders Bars are a little more like a regular protein bar – it has a traditional bar form and is the consistency similar to a hardened brownie. I chose the Chocolate Mint flavour and it’s all things delicious. That’s one thing that I’ve come to understand about Clif – while they make products adapted to a range of activities, they certainly don’t cut on the flavour! Just a note for fellow Aussies: I haven’t seen the Builder’s Bars available in Australia yet. These bars are a lot heavier than the regular Clif Bar and I found that I could only eat about half a bar at a time. No biggie – it makes it last longer!

I have only had a test of the Shot Bloks since I haven’t had any crazy long runs since Sept (being off the foot will do that), but what I had was good. I’m certainly not a gel person (I get it EVERYWHERE) so this is a great substitute. The consistency is like a jube, or soft gummy, and again packed full of flavour! I can’t wait to use the Shot Bloks that I have when I start hitting the longer kilometres – any extra juice is needed and if I can avoid sugary gummies themselves, then I’m for the better!!

Another thing that is great about the Clif Bar and Company, is that they care about the ingredients that are in each product – they avoid the nasties like hydrogenated oils and high fructose corn syrup.

I certainly hope that some White Chocolate Macadamia Clif Bars make their way into my stocking this Christmas! In fact, I’ve already got some stashed away ready for under the tree placement on Christmas Eve!!

Don’t just take my word for it! Check out the other BibRave Pro reviews on Clif Bars:

Don’t forget to join the BibChat conversation every Tuesday at 8P CT (Wednesday for Aussies – check the timezones). It’s a great way to connect with runners around the world!

4 thoughts on “It’s a BibRave Pro Stocking Stuffer Week! Day 1= Clif Bar!

Leave a Reply

