Challenger Ready: The Fitness Games Review

This post was sponsored by The Fitness Games through my partnership with Fit Approach as a Sweat Pink Ambassador. I was not compensated monetarily, but was provided the Platinum Version of the application for review. As always, all opinions are my own.

If I was to sum up my relationship with cross-training outside of my weekly runs, it would simply be “It’s complicated”. I love the thought of it, and have every intention of doing it, but it never happens. So I jumped at the chance to review The Fitness Games app (TFG), available on iOS and also Android, as a way to get in the much needed alternate (from running) exercise that I was after.

So what is The Fitness Games?

The Fitness Games is a new socially driven Fitness application which not only tracks your workouts, but also allows you to challenge your friends, or strangers, at each workout! The app itself provides over 250 different workouts split into strength, cardio, full body and cross training – but you are also free to come up with your own. Now I’m not saying anything but you certainly could tailor a workout to your strengths and challenge one of your friends on your own terms!

Select your challenge!
Select your challenge!

Let’s workout!

For my first workout I selected the cross training option, I had one goal and nothing – not even a cardiovascular workout (which you can run a pre-determined distance) would stop me! What’s great about The Fitness Games app is that you can look at the required exercises prior to committing to a workout – so you know what you are up against!

Being at home – I really had to look at something that I was able to use with either free weights or body weight (the majority of the strength routines looked like they needed to be in a gym), so Bodyweight Madness caught my eye. The list has burpees (No! Not burpees) but a couple of exercises that I wasn’t sure about. Before I could even think about searching the internet for the exercise, I quickly discovered (and what I really liked about the set-up of the app) that if you are unsure of any exercise, there is a link below the list where you get a play-by-play pictorial and video of the exercise. Easy huh?

Each workout has a list of each requirement - burpees come at me!!
Each workout has a list of each requirement – burpees come at me!!
Wondering about the exercise? The Fitness Games shows you how to do it right with a play-by-play pictorial.
Wondering about the exercise? The Fitness Games shows you how to do it right with a play-by-play pictorial.

I felt like I was studying up for a test, trying to make sure I had everything down pat prior to beginning the workout, but this was for nothing – the app again links to the videos during the actual workout.

I decided to only challenge myself, this was my first cross training workout in a long time, and I didn’t need to hand anybody a win on a silver platter. And so I began those 40 squat jumps. Easy. Or so I thought. Honestly, about 20 jumps in and I was feeling it – not only did I have 20 more to do, but also aI had to get through a whole bunch of other exercises (including burpees) and I had to do it 3 times!!

I struggled through the first rep, it took me about 18 mins. Good thing I wasn’t challenging anyone! The second rep goal was to beat that time. Where I struggled during the first rep, I powered through in the second, even getting through the burpees with no thought! I did have to reference back through the picture prompts of a couple of the exercises in order to get everything down pat.

I finished off the second rep with under 15 mins and followed it up immediately with the third rep to finish the workout in about 45mins. I was soo happy to have finished my first workout with the app, and really thankful that I started off by challenging myself, I think I should do a couple more workouts before trying to challenge anybody!

Starting the workout - not only does the app time your workout, but you can also go and check through the exercises required.
Starting the workout – not only does the app time your workout, but you can also go and check through the exercises required.
So glad to get to the push ups!
So glad to get to the push ups!

It was easy to submit the workout, with comments if you would like, and upload to a news feed that contains all of your training partner’s workout information. You also get a score for your workout, which you can compare with other potential challengers, or your training partners and your points accumulate to allow you to go up levels (I’m a Level 1 Rookie).

Finishing the workout gives you a score to rate yourself amongst the other challengers.
Finishing the workout gives you a score to rate yourself amongst the other challengers. Also included is a news feed of your training partner’s workout wins!

One important thing to remember is that you have to have the app running in the foreground to complete the work out. It won’t work in the background so it’s best to perhaps get your music from another source if you need it to train.

Thoughts.. 

I really loved this app, not only does it make a competition out of your standard workouts – and let’s face it, competing really gets our bums into gear right? – but I does give a structure to those of us who are unable to think about putting together a range of key exercises to work our bodies.

The workouts themselves are great – the Bodyweight Madness really pushed me (even made me realise how unfit I was!) and worked the muscles that running doesn’t. Honestly, I could feel them for days after!

I can see myself using this in conjunction with my running in order to give me a nice all-round improvement on my fitness, and hope to use this in the gym – especially given my lack of exercise knowledge when it comes to gym equipment.

The app itself is extremely user friendly, and easy to get where you want to go. Remember that tip about keeping the app running, otherwise you’ll miss out on your workout being registered. The only downfall I can see is for the cardio (running) where I don’t actually run with my phone or tablet, I won’t be able to register this activity to compete against others.

Additional features of the app:

  • I was able to track my SPA friends through the Workout Partners tab on the app. You are able to see how many challenges they have won or lost, as well as their score & level. Some of you have been kicking some TFG butt!!
  • Popular Photos & Videos is a newsfeed featuring the most popular media from all TFG participants from around the world – some of the transformations are amazing!
  • The ability to ability to post a gym selfie is definitely a must in this day and age, so naturally it has its own button on the main page!

Unfortunately I was only able to complete one workout before being on a rest order to calm down the bursitis in my foot, but I am super eager to get back and include The Fitness Games in my weekly workout routine! Watch out workout partners, I’ll be ready to go shortly!

 

Have you tried The Fitness Games app? If not, what apps do you find helpful when cross training?

One thought on “Challenger Ready: The Fitness Games Review

  1. This looks like a fun app and I have been waiting to read some reviews. I like the EveryMove app- you don’t get to challenge anyone directly but there is a leaderboard so you can see who is earning the most points and rewards!

    Like

Leave a Reply

