Facing the non-race

20140713-102925-37765746.jpgThis was my race number but I didn’t run today.

In fact, I haven’t ran for at least 3 weeks, something which I hadn’t planned.

This weekend was the Sydney Harbour 10K, it was meant to be the last race before the Disneyland Half next month & I was super eager to try and push for a great 10K time. But it wasn’t to be.

The Sydney Harbour 10K is touted to be a real fast and completely flat course, not too mention scenic as well! And for the first time this year, they ran a 5K as well (5K isn’t a hugely ran event down here). It looked to be a great morning for it, a little on the chilly side, but the sun was out. Mind you, I didn’t really complain about not getting up at a crazy hour in the morning.

So I’m still sitting on the couch, wrapped up in blankets and I’m looking at trying to get back to my running where I left off (as soon as I’m able to), with less than 7 weeks until I leave for California. I’m frantically trying to re-arrange the training calendar to ensure I keep up with the Dumbo Double Dare Galloway plan, especially since my own training plan is out the window. That said, I don’t think that I’ll be up for an 11 mile run this Sunday, but I will have to realistically look at fitting these long runs in.

Time is running out!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

