Can you sew? I dumbo dare ya!

Only 6 months until the Disneyland Half, but who’s counting? I couldn’t contain my excitement upon registering for the Disneyland Half weekend – looking to run in the Dumbo Double Dare and the 5K on the Friday – but now that excitement has come and gone, what else is there to do except run? Make awesome costumes!

I’m happy, and possibly a little ashamed to admit that I have completed my 3 costumes, complete to the sparkle skirts and all – which I purchased from the fantastic Sparkle Athletic. Side note: These skirts are amazing and all I want to do is run every single time with one on (incl. training runs!).

I decided not to go ahead and ruin my technical singlets for the name of craft, this is the first time I have not only ran with a costume but also made one (or three!). Given the heat of California in August this may come back to bite me hard, but I could justify ruining a $4 singlet and throwing away if I need space in my luggage for expo goodies.

Look at these beauties, I can't wait to run through the "Happiest Place on Earth" with them on!
Look at these beauties, I can’t wait to run through the “Happiest Place on Earth” with them on!

I had convinced myself that I needed to make these now since it was summer here and I had to give them a test run, especially since I’m a picky runner. Anything out of place (including hair) will make me stop. This proved to be a winner in the case of the tutu. Here I am, running down the street in a red tutu underneath a gold sparkle skirt. Needless to say, although I got some LOVELY comments from passing motorists, I managed to identify that I would not be able to maintain the set up for 5K, let alone a half marathon.

Sorry tutu, it was over before it began! Combine the fabric, sweat and possible chafing on the legs, I just can’t risk it (or the luggage space).

So onto the tops. I had trouble picking out what I wanted to run as, I had honestly changed my mind on one of the costumes several times. I had originally wanted to be a bellhop from the Tower of Terror – but the lack of maroon tops stifled that dream; then was the thought of being Russell from Up. I ended up settling on my 5K costume through my long-standing love for Sorcerer Mickey, but also that I had a pair of mouse ears at home already.

I’ve decided since the 5K is at 5:30am, the need for a hat won’t be too massive so I can get away with the ears. The costume itself has a twist and I ended up with the Minnie print skirt rather than the plain red.

My 10K costume has worked a treat as Jolly Holiday Bert from Mary Poppins, and I managed to locate a straw visor to make the complete look as true to the character as possible. Of course, I’ve added a touch of sparkle and some character amendments! The hardest decision for this costume was whether to keep with a white sparkle skirt, or a turquoise one. Colour ended up winning and now putting it on, it certainly looks the part. I can’t wait to get a picture with this character on the route (or if he isn’t on there, I’m determined to go into the park sweaty and smelly just to get one!).

The Half Marathon one is of course Snow White, I never intended to be a princess but couldn’t resist. I followed Carrie Lundell’s guide to making the Snow White top (as best as I could), which can be found here, for the cape and the collar, otherwise it’s a do-it-yourself. As mentioned earlier, I can’t stand certain things while I run, and ribbon around the arms wasn’t going to happen for me. I’ve made small detail on the top itself and then I have collected and darted the cape at the back so it shouldn’t be hanging over my skin while I’m attempting to run 21.1K.

I also taught myself how to sew and thread using YouTube and a borrowed sewing machine – see what accomplishments you achieve by entering a RunDisney race! 🙂 Most of the items were gathered from the local craft/fabric store however the bows on the Snow White & Bert costumes were found on eBay for about $2 each.  Again, the sparkle skirts were purchased from Sparkle Athletic.

Love the front of this! Made especially since I can't stand the ribbons on my arms. The bow was a bow tie from eBay!
Love the front of this! Made especially since I can’t stand the ribbons on my arms. The bow was a bow tie from eBay!
20140308-163231.jpg
The back. Notice the tie around the cape!

 

So we’re 6 months until the starting line, I’ve made – and ran in – my costumes and I think they’re good to go! Of course the danger is thinking about other really awesome characters you can be, but these will do. There are too many characters and not enough races!

One thought on “Can you sew? I dumbo dare ya!

  1. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment
    (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it
    upp what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too aam an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the
    whole thing. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers?
    I’d efinitely appreciate it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

