Where I’ve come from…… and where I’m heading

Now that we are into the third month in the year, I’ve decided it’s about time to get serious again, and really concentrate on improving upon 2013. Not that last year was too shabby. A year ago I was sitting in hospital and made a decision to partake in an activity that I, for so long, avoided. I made the decision to put back on those running shoes, tie those laces and go out for a run. I only made 2km in my first go – but it led to a new obsession that now, on my runniversary, I get to share with you all.

This was me a year ago, bored in hospital. Running was only a thought, not an action then.
This was me a year ago, bored in hospital. Running was only a thought, not an action then.

Last year I had only planned to run a couple of 10K races, including the Toronto Yonge Street 10K and the Nike She Runs Sydney 10K event. I actually added a 12K Bay to Bay run in June & a 9K Bridge Run at the Sydney Running Festival (yes, running over the Sydney Harbour Bridge!!) and surprisingly put my name down for a Half Marathon in November.

Me at the Toronto Yonge Street 10K. My first race!
Me at the Toronto Yonge Street 10K. My first race!

It only took me less than halfway through that Half Marathon to realise that it’s a VERY long way, but here I am, starting the year off already entered in 2 Half Marathons, 3 10Ks and a 5K (my first!) plus a challenge (calling all those other Dumbo Double Darer’s out there). It’s only been a month since the Disneyland Half registrations but I’m counting down the days and need these other races to not only prepare (and hopefully improve), but to also take my mind off the countdown!

Which of your next races are you most looking forward to?  

Leave a Reply

